Sunday, August 19, 2012

In My Mailbox {052}

Weekly Recap
Review: Blackwood by Gwenda Bond
Review: Flight (Crescent Chronicles #1) by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Feature: Waiting on Wednesday - Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson #7) by Patricia Briggs 
  


Witch Born (Witch Song #2) by Amber Argyle
From Author, For Review
Brusenna thought it was finished.

She defeated the Dark Witch, saving the Haven Witches from imprisonment and death. She found love and a place to belong.

She was wrong.

Haven is not the sanctuary it appears to be. Even love is in danger of slipping away like water through cupped hands.

Some things can't be saved.

A new threat merges with the old as the Witches’ dark history begins to catch up with them. Only Brusenna knows the extent of the danger and how to stop it, though doing so might cost her everything.

Including her life.

Will Brusenna be required to make the ultimate sacrifice?
I reviewed Witch Song last year and really enjoyed it, so when I was approached about reviewing Witch Born I jumped at the chance. Plus isn't that cover gorgeous?


Mystic City by Theo Lawrence
From Netgalley / Publisher for Review
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.  
Ummmm... yes please. Matched, Blade Runner, The Hunger Games, X-Men & Blade Runner... sign me up now.


Dante's Girl (Paradise Diaries #1) by Courtney Cole
From Netgalley / Publisher for Review
I have spent every summer since I was ten years old with my father in London. Every summer, since I was ten years old, has been uneventful and boring.
Until this year.

And this year, after a freak volcanic eruption strands me far from home, I have learned these things:

1. I can make do with one outfit for three days before I buy new clothes.
2. If I hear the phrase, “You’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto,” even one more time, I might become a homicidal maniac.
3. I am horribly and embarrassingly allergic to jellyfish.
4. I am in love with Dante Giliberti, who just happens to be the beautiful, sophisticated son of the Prime Minister of a Mediterranean paradise.
5. See number four above. Because it brings with it a whole slew of problems and I’ve learned something from every one of them.

Let’s start with the fact that Dante’s world is five light-years away from mine. He goes to black-tie functions and knows the Prime Minister of England on a first name basis. I was born and raised on a farm in Kansas and wear cut-off jeans paired with cowboy boots. See the difference?

But hearts don’t care about differences. Hearts want what they want. And mine just wants to be Dante’s girl.

My heart just might be crazy.
 
For some strange reason I didn't know this was on netgalley. When I saw that it was I jumped all over it.


Word and Breathe (Wordless Chronicles #1) by Susannah Noel
From Author, For Review
Riana has learned how to stay out of trouble. She spends her days studying written texts in the government’s Office of Readers, and she spends her nights taking care of her sick sister. She always—always—follows the rules. Despite her low profile, she has mysteriously become a target. Someone has kidnapped her sister. Someone else is trying to kill her. And someone has sent a Soul-Breather to beguile her out of her secrets.

Her help comes from the mythic leader of an underground rebel movement. A man who used to be her friend. A man who has silently loved her for years. He disappeared from her life without a word, and now he expects her to trust him again.

Then there’s the Soul-Breather, a man who can taste her spirit with only a touch. He makes her feel things she’s never experienced before, but she doesn’t know if the feelings are real. Hired to deceive and betray her, he offers to help her instead.

Without both men, she can’t rescue her sister. And she can’t discover the world-changing knowledge—buried in her memory—that has made her a target in the first place.
Doesn't this one sound divine? I'm excited to dive into it.


Colonization (Paradise Reclaimed #1) by Aubrie Dionne
From Publisher, For Review
Andromeda has spent all seventeen years of her life aboard a deep space transport vessel destined for a paradise planet. Her safe cocoon is about to break open as Paradise 21 looms only one month away, and she must take the aptitude tests to determine her role on the new world and her computer assigned lifemate. As a great-granddaughter of the Commander of the ship, she wants to live up to her family name. But, her forbidden love for her childhood friend, Sirius, distracts her and she fails the tests. The results place her in a menial role in the new colony and pair her with Corvus, “the oaf”.

But when Andromeda steps foot on Paradise 21, her predestined future is the least of her worries. Alien ghosts from a failed colonization warn her of a deadly threat to her colony. And when Sirius’s ship crashes on the far ridge in an attempt to investigate, she journeys to rescue him with Corvus.

Andromeda now must convince the authorities of the imminent danger to keep her protect her new home. What she didn’t expect was a battle of her own feelings for Sirius and Corvus.

Can she save the colony and discover her true love?
I have such a thing for dystopian adventures and this one sounds amazing :)

 

4 comments:

Sandy said...

Dante's Girl is in my mailbox this week too. Want to read Mystic City! The other two look really good too, but this is the first time I'm hearing of them.

Check out my IMM & Sunday Post.

Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

The Romance Bookie said...

I got Dante's Girl too!!! :)

Awesome IMM!
Here's my IMM:
http://romancebookie.blogspot.com/2012/08/imm-9.html

Bookish said...

Lots of good books there, Mystic City looks amazing! Happy reading!

In My Mailbox!

Krystianna said...

I can't wait to read Mystic City! Colonization sounds pretty good. :) Thanks for sharing!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...